Citlali Herrera Torres Interview

Name: Citlali Herrera Torres
Socials: @citlalitorresbmx
Current Age: 27
Hometown: Nuevo León, Mexico
Sponsors: n/a

How did you get into BMX? I have been cycling for a long time, my family are cyclists and over the years I have been participating in different cycling disciplines. It turns out that in one of these disciplines, I found out that my coach practiced Flatland, where he also taught me a little about this discipline. That’s how I got into BMX freestyle.

One day I passed through some streets near a skatepark and decided to go. There, I went with some riders and asked to borrow a bike… for a month I went to practice with any bike that was available until I could buy my own. Since then I have not stopped riding, that was in May 2018.

What languages do you speak? Spanish and a bit of English

Your top three parks? In Mexico “Fomerrey 109”, “Alcanfores” and “Deportivo Truchuelo”. In USA “Pflugerville” and “House Park”.

Top three songs on your playlist?

  1. How You Like That Song by BLACKPINK
  2. Maléfica Song by Cazzu and Maria Becerra
  3. LOKERA Song by Brray, Lyanno, and Rauw Alejandro.
    I love listening to them when I’m rolling in a bowl, they make me feel motivated.

Three people who inspire you and why?

  1. Lizsurley and Queen Villegas; I’ve been following them for a long time. They inspire me not to give up and I find them very motivating.
  2. Perris Benegas; I really admire the speed and height of her jumps, the strength with which she rides is admirable.

What do you do when you’re not riding? I have two jobs, I am a teacher and administrator of a sports unit. I don’t have free time. During small moments in the day, I’ll go for a walk with my dog, attend the needs of my plants or simply, watch a movie at my mom’s or dad’s house.

Favourite person to ride or train with? It’s hard to match one person. I don’t have a training partner. I like to find people in the skatepark with a lot of motivation, it doesn’t matter if they are a cyclist, skater or rollerblader.

Favourite shoes to ride in? Vans

Best advice given to you? I read this a long time ago in a book: “Our reward is in the effort and not the result, a total effort is a complete victory.”

Your biggest fear? I’m not afraid of the sea, but I’m afraid of what I can find at the bottom.

Your proudest accomplishment? Hablando del BMX freestyle fue El día que fui campeona nacional en el 2019.

Your worst habit? Not giving myself enough rest time.

If you could hire someone to help you in some aspect of your life, what would it be? A psychologist is always necessary.

What is a memorable experience you had that couldn’t have happened without BMX? The number of cities I have known and the accumulated experiences.

Your top three future goals you want to achieve?

  1. Stand out in women’s cycling in Mexico.
  2. Represent my country in competitions abroad.
  3. Put Mexico high on the board, with good results in UCI competitions.

Similar Articles

follow us

shop the bloom bmx

Most Popular