Julie Plousey Interview

Name: Julie Plousey
Socials: @julie-plousey
Current Age: 21
Hometown: Toul, France
Sponsors: Teranis, BMX Renegade

How did you get into BMX? When I was in high school I started skateboarding, I skated for almost 2 years. During this time I made some friends who rode BMX, of course, I tried once, and I really enjoyed the mentality and the sensation of BMX. Every time I went to the skatepark I borrowed a bike to ride haha. Two months later I bought my first BMX. That was just before COVID, so I started riding and 1 month after the confinement started. I got into it seriously right after COVID, so it’s been approximately 3 years since I started BMX!

What languages do you speak? I can speak English but not very well aha (Fluent in French)

Your top three parks?

  1. My local park in Toul Darmstadt
  2. Bike park in Deutschland
  3. Area 51 in Eindhoven

Top three songs on your playlist? It’s so difficult to answer this question, I listen to so many songs and different styles of music. In this moment I will say: Eminem, From Ashes to New and Turnstile.

Three people who inspire you and why?

  1. Nikita Ducarroz for representing all the women at the highest level and talking in public and in media about mental health, which is very important in sports.
  2. Obviously, Charlotte Worthington really inspired me. For being the first Olympic Gold medalist and for pushing the women’s BMX level higher than ever.
  3. Finally, I might say my parents for being able to find positivity in every situation even the bad ones and always supporting all the things I try to do (study, sport, relationships…)

What is a trend in BMX you want to stop seeing? I don’t think it’s a trend but the haters are terrible in this sport where it’s supposed to be a place for friendship and happiness. We should all support each other instead of criticizing others.

What do you do when you’re not riding? When I can’t ride (often because of the weather) I go climbing at the gym which I also manage. I find the same mentality in climbing as I do in BMX. People are very nice and always support each other. When I get so hurt that I can’t ride or climb, I spend my days watching Netflix in my bed, depressed, for not being able to do sport haha.

Favourite person to ride or train with? I ride all the time with my boyfriend, it’s very nice to share this passion together. I also ride with some young girls from my team, it’s very motivating to ride with them as I always have fun riding with them.

Favourite shoes to ride in? I always buy second-hand shoes because I destroy my shoes really quickly. For now, my favorite shoes are the Nike Air Force One.

Best advice given to you? During competitions, my boyfriend always tells me to have fun and to do everything I can, to be proud of me.

Your biggest fear? Big jumps and snakes.

Your proudest accomplishment? Being able to ride with all the girls that I see on Instagram. My other accomplishment this year might be to jump every feature in a competition course.

Your worst habit? Not believing enough in myself.

If you could hire someone to help you in some aspect of your life, what would it be? It might be someone to help me organize my schedule to find time to train, work and hang with my friends and my family.

What is a memorable experience you had that couldn’t have happened without BMX? Being able to travel with my team or my boyfriend in France and in other countries to ride big parks and meet new people.

Your top three future goals you want to achieve?

  1. Getting 100% of my confidence back on my bike to learn new tricks (I broke my ACL and got surgery a year ago and I’m still scared about hurting my knee again).
  2. Qualify in the semi-final of a World Cup.
  3. The most important one; to keep having fun on my bike and meet new people.

Similar Articles

follow us

shop the bloom bmx

Most Popular